Destiny 2 is an upcoming online-only multiplayer first-person shooter video game in development by Bungie and will be published by Activision.

It is set to be released on September 6, 2017, for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, with a Windows PC version scheduled for release on October 24. It will be the sequel to 2014's Destiny and its subsequent expansions.

The Destiny 2 Beta was a public Destiny 2 beta test. Early access to the beta began on July 18, 2017, on PlayStation 4, and on July 19, 2017, on Xbox One; the beta opened to non-early access holders on July 21, 2017, and concluded for both consoles on July 25, 2017. The beta will begin for PC on August 28, 2017, for early access holders, then open to all PC players on August 29, 2017, and conclude on August 31, 2017.
Players who pre-ordered Destiny 2 from select retailers received a code to redeem for early access. Console players who pre-ordered the game through their respective online marketplace or through their websites were able to automatically download the beta without using a code. Codes were also not needed after the beta opened to the public.
Participating in the beta will unlock an exclusive Emblem in the full game.

There are three different editions of the game. Standard, Digital Deluxe and Standard + Expansion Pass Bundle.
Destiny 2 is priced at $53 on all platforms for the standard edition of the game. Standard edition also comes in a digital form which is priced the same at $59.96.
Digital Deluxe edition is priced at $99.99. It includes a copy of Destiny 2, premium digital content, and the Expansion Pass to continue your Guardian’s legend. Premium digital content Includes a Legendary sword, Legendary Player Emote, and a Cabal Empire Themed Emblem.
And the third edition Standard + Expansion Pass Bundle is priced at $89.99 which is a digital standard edition with the expansion. Expansion Pass gives you access to both Expansion I and Expansion II, offering brand new story missions, cooperative activities, competitive multiplayer, and a wealth of new weapons, armor, and gear.

New Cinematic Campaign
Destiny 2 will feature an all-new cinematic campaign with a host of new Story missions and cutscenes that will form a story unlike that seen in its predecessor. The first mission, Homecoming, sends Guardians on a journey to take back The Last City and the Traveler from the Red Legion, led by Dominus Ghaul, who has a brief cameo in the first mission, explaining his intentions.
New Cooperative Missions
There will be brand new Strikes in Destiny 2, which will require up to 3 players to fully complete. One such strike is The Inverted Spire, first revealed in the worldwide gameplay premiere, which sends Guardians on an attack against a Vex stronghold on Nessus that is under siege by the Red Legion and will culminate in a 3-stage boss encounter.
New Competitive Multiplayer
The Crucible will function differently in Destiny 2. All game modes will feature two teams of four for every game mode. In-game, there will be a new HUD that gives the player information on the enemy team, like when their Super is ready, or when and where they picked up ammo for their power weapons. There will also be brand new maps and game modes. One of the new game modes, for example, is called Countdown, which is the first attack-defend game mode in the Crucible, similar to Call of Duty's Search and Destroy. The radar has also been modified, with the detection radius being fixed, as opposed to it scanning until it finds an enemy.
New Challenging Raids
Destiny 2 will feature a new Raid. The specifics of the theme of the raid are still to come, such as which species it will feature and which location it will take place in.
New Patrol Modes
Patrol activities in Destiny 2 will feature all activities from the Patrol Mode of its predecessor: patrol missions, Public Events, materials, and loot chests. However, there will also be new heroic objectives, Adventures, treasure maps and Lost Sectors to explore. To assist in exploring these areas, players will be able to use a map that marks all activities.
New Travel Destinations
Destiny 2 will feature four new destinations: European Dead Zone, Titan, Io, and Nessus. Each will feature their own detailed environments. The new European Dead Zone will be Bungie's largest ever open-world environment.

Weapon System
Instead of the primary, special, and heavy weapons in Destiny, the weapon slots in Destiny 2 will be occupied by kinetic, energy, and power weapons respectively. Kinetic guns such as Hand Cannons will function similarly to primaries; they will be used the most and will help with most standard encounters. Energy weapons like SMGs will function similarly to special weapons; they will be used to help the player get out of tough situations. Power weapons will function similarly to heavy weapons like Rocket Launchers; they will be used to turn the tide of battle in the player's favor.
All classes in Destiny 2 will each get another exclusive subclass to replace the ones introduced with The Taken King expansion. Warlocks get access to the Dawnblade, which allows them to wield a sword of fire which enables them to send off waves of flames at enemies. Titans get access to the Sentinel, which allows them to wield a shield that they can use to block damage and as either a blunt melee weapon or ranged throwing the weapon. Hunters get access to the Arcstrider, which allows them to wield a spear of electricity that they can use to quickly slash everything on their path.